Professor Rosalind Croucher AM

Professor Rosalind Croucher AM was appointed to the Australian Law Reform Commission in February 2007, and in December 2009 as President and has overseen or led 12 law reform inquiries in that time. In 2014 she was acknowledged for her contributions to public policy as one of Australia’s ‘100 Women of Influence’ and was awarded the Australian Women Lawyer’s award. In the Australia Day Honours list, 2015, Professor Croucher was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

Hon. Philip Cummins AM

The Hon. Philip Cummins, who commenced as Chair of the Victorian Law Reform Commission on 1 September 2012, was a Judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria from 1988 to 2009. He served in all Supreme Court Divisions and in the Court of Appeal, including as Senior Judge of the Trial Division of the Court and Principal Judge of the Criminal Division. In 2010-2011 he was Chair of the Protecting Victoria’s Vulnerable Children Inquiry. He was Chair of the Victoria Law Foundation from 2009 to 2014. He holds degrees including a Master of Laws and Master of Science (Psychiatry) and is a Senior Fellow (Hon) of the Melbourne Law School. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law.


Roland Daysh

Roland is the General Manager of the New Zealand Law Commission. He is a graduate of Victoria University in both law and finance; and has completed post graduate study at the Australian Maritime College. 

He has extensive experience in the New Zealand public sector ranging from treaty settlements, cost recovery issues to fisheries management.


Hon. Sir Grant Hammond KNZM LLD

Sir Grant Hammond graduated from the University of Auckland and the University of Illinois. He was a partner in the Hamilton law firm of Tompkins Wake & Co.  He was then a Professor of Law in American and Canadian Universities, and Chairman of a Canadian law reform agency, before becoming a Professor of Law and Dean of Law at the University of Auckland. He has been a Visiting Professor of Law at Cornell, the Law Foundation Professor in Canada, and the Robert S Campbell Fellow at Magdalen College, Oxford.  He is the author of numerous published articles and books.   He is a Doctor of Laws in the University of Waikato.  He was appointed a Judge of the New Zealand High Court in 1992 and to the Court of Appeal in January 2004.  He retired from that Court by reason of age in 2014, but continues to sit on the Samoa Court of Appeal.  

Sir Grant Hammond is President of the New Zealand Law Commission. His appointment as a Law Commissioner is until May 2016.


Terese Henning

Terese Henning is the Director of the Tasmania Law Reform Institute.

Sarah Moulds

Sarah Moulds is the lead author of the South Australian Law Reform Institute's Audit Report on South Australian laws that discriminate on the grounds of gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and intersex status.  Sarah also coordinates community consultations for this reference, teachers 'Law Reform' and is currently undertaking a PhD.

Mbage Njuguna Ng'ang'a

Mbage Njuguna Ng'ang'a is the Chairman of the Kenya Law Reform Commission. He holds degrees including a Master of Law in International Business Law and a Master of Science in Agricultural Development both from the University of London. Previously he was a Senior Partner at Waruhiu and K’owade and Ng'ang'a Advocates in Nairobi, Kenya; and Chairman of the Energy Tribunal Kenya. Mbage is a member of the Law Society of Kenya and has served in various committees of the Law Society including being a Convenor of the Property Law, Conveyancing and Land Reform Committee.


Chizaso Eric Nyirongo

Chizaso Eric Nyirongo is the Deputy Chief Law Reform Officer at the Malawi Law Commission.

Dr. David Plater

David Plater has previously worked with the Crown Prosecution Service in London and the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions in South Australia. His PhD from the University of Tasmania examined the role of the modern prosecutor. He presently combines roles with the South Australian Law Reform Institute at the University of Adelaide (where he is a Senior Lecturer) and with the South Australian Attorney-General’s Department.

Professor Gillian Triggs

Emeritus Professor Gillian Triggs is the President of the Australian Human Rights Commission, with a five year appointment. She was Dean of the Faculty of Law and Challis Professor of International Law at the University of Sydney from 2007-12 and Director of the British Institute of International and Comparative Law from 2005-7. She is a former Barrister and a Governor of the College of Law.

Professor Triggs has combined an academic career with international commercial legal practice and has advised the Australian and other governments and international organisations on international legal and trade disputes. Her focus at the Commission is on the implementation in Australian law of the human rights treaties to which Australia is a party, and to work with nations in the Asia Pacific region on practical approaches to human rights.

Professor Triggs is the author of many books and papers on international law, including International Law, Contemporary Principles and Practices (2nd Ed, 2011). 

Fiona Tito Wheatland

Fiona Tito Wheatland has worked in law reform over many years in a number of jurisdictions.  Over 35 years ago, she started her legal career at the New South Wales Law Reform Commission. Older and wiser, she is now working at the ACT Law Reform Advisory Council, while she completes her PhD.

Professor John Williams

Professor John Williams is the Dean of Adelaide Law School, The University of Adelaide.   He is the Dame Roma Mitchell Chair of Law, Deputy Executive Dean, Faculty of the Professions and Director, South Australian Law Reform Institute.

John’s main research interest is public law and in particular Australian constitutional law, The High Court of Australia, comparative constitutional law, federalism and legal history.





Main menu

Back to top