Sex offenders registration Division announced

The Commission has announced its Division members for the new sex offenders registration reference. The Division will comprise Chairperson and Commissioner Professor Neil Rees and Commissioners Justice Karin Emerton, Judge Felicity Hampel and Magistrate Mandy Chambers. 

The Hon John Coldrey QC—a retired Victorian Supreme Court judge and a former Director of Public Prosecutions—will act as a consultant to the Commission in this review. Lindy Smith has been appointed team leader.

The Attorney-General has asked the Commission to review laws governing the registration of sex offenders and the use of information about registered sex offenders by law enforcement and child protection agencies. The Commission is due to report to government by 4 November 2011.

Voiced by Amazon Polly