Succession Laws: Report

Appendix A: Advisory committee

The Commission formed a small committee of people recognised for their expertise in the operation of succession laws to assist in identifying and exploring issues arising from the terms of reference. Members were asked to contribute as individual experts and not as representatives of any organisation with which they worked or were affiliated.

The committee met four times, on 2 July 2012, 16 July 2012, 2 August 2012 and 2 May 2013. The following attended one or more meetings:

• Danny Barlow, director, Riordan Legal

• Richard Boaden, barrister

• Associate Professor Matthew Groves, Faculty of Law, Monash University

• Michael Halpin, Registrar of Probates

• Justin Hartnett, principal, Harwood Andrews

• Mark Maier, solicitor, McNab McNab & Starke

• Stewart McNab, barrister

• Richard Phillips, barrister

• Carol Stuart, community lawyer, Seniors Rights Victoria

• Michael Tsotsos, legal counsel, Perpetual

• Professor Prue Vines, Faculty of Law, University of New South Wales

• Kathy Wilson, special counsel, Aitken Partners