Victims of Crime in the Criminal Trial Process: Report (html)

Appendix C: Consultations

Consultations were held in Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong, Melbourne, Mildura, Morwell, Shepparton, Sydney, Warrnambool and Wodonga.

Separate discussions

The Commission consulted separately with the people and organisations listed below

in chronological order.

1. A victim

2. Commissioner for Victims’ Rights, South Australia

3. Parent of a victim

4. Parent of victims

5. Sue and Don Scales, Mildura

6. Magistrate Lesley Flemming

7. Aimee Mazaa, Mallee District Aboriginal Services

8. Parent of a victim

9. Magistrate Ron Saines

10. A victim

11. Parent of a victim

12. Parent of a victim

13. Parents of a victim

14. A victim

15. Director of Public Prosecutions Victoria (DPP)

16. Judges of the County Court of Victoria

17. Dr Robyn Holder, Griffith University

18. Child Witness Service, Department of Justice and Regulation

19. Victims of Crime Commissioner, Victoria

20. Parent of victims

21. Victoria Police

22. Professor Jonathan Doak, Nottingham Trent University

23. Court Network staff and a Court Networker—County Court

24. Justin Lewis, Crown Prosecutor

25. Aboriginal Family Violence Prevention & Legal Service Victoria

26. Magistrate Stella Stuthridge

27. Loddon Campaspe Centre Against Sexual Assault

28. Laurie Krause

29. Parent of victims

30. Dr Tyrone Kirchengast, University of New South Wales

31. Judge of the County Court of Victoria

32. Legal Aid NSW

33. Women’s Legal Service NSW

34. Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, NSW

35. Parent of a victim

36. Magistrate John Lesser

37. Centacare, Barwon South West Region

38. Executive Officer, Barwon South West Regional Aboriginal Justice Advisory Committee (RAJAC)

39. Office of Public Prosecutions Victoria (OPP)

40. A victim

41. A victim

42. Relative of a victim; a victim

43. Victoria Police Sexual Offences and Child Abuse Investigation Team, Wodonga

(Victoria Police SOCIT, Wodonga)

44. Kristy McKellar

45. Victims Support Agency, Department of Justice and Regulation

46. A victim

47. Victoria Legal Aid

48. Dr Heather Strang, University of Cambridge

49. Commissioner of Victims Rights, New South Wales

50. Witness Assistance Service, OPP Victoria

51. Criminal Law Section, Law Institute of Victoria

52. Emeritus Professor Arie Freiberg AM

53. Parent of a victim

54. Victorian Bar and Criminal Bar Association

55. Professor Edna Erez, University of Illinois at Chicago

56. Colleen Murphy (Kelly)

57. Victorian Legal Services Commissioner and CEO Victorian Legal Services Board

Roundtable discussions

The Commission convened group discussions with the people and organisations listed below

in chronological order.

1. Victim support specialists, Mildura: Mallee Sexual Assault Unit and Mallee Domestic

Violence Unit; Victims Assistance Program—St Luke’s

2. Legal practitioners, Mildura: Rebecca Boreham, Barrister and Solicitor; Jade Bott & Associates; Martin Irwin & Richards; Mallee District Aboriginal Service; Murray Mallee Community Legal Centre

3. Victim support specialists and academic, Geelong: Barwon Centre Against Sexual Assault; Court Network; Victims Assistance Program—Centacare; Ian Parsons, Research Fellow, Centre for Rural Regional Law and Justice, Deakin University Law School

4. Legal practitioners, Geelong: Criminal Lawyers Geelong; Office of Public Prosecutions; Victoria Legal Aid; WS Lawyers

5. Victim support specialists, Morwell: Court Network; Gippsland Centre Against Sexual Assault; Ramahyuck District Aboriginal Corporation; Victims Assistance Program—Windermere

6. Legal practitioners, Morwell: Verhoeven & Curtain; Victoria Legal Aid

7. Victim support specialists, Melbourne: metropolitan Victims Assistance Program workers

8. Metropolitan Centres Against Sexual Assault: Gatehouse Centre; Eastern Centre Against Sexual Assault; Northern Centre Against Sexual Assault; Western Region Centre Against Sexual Assault

9. Victim support and therapeutic specialists, Shepparton: Victims Assistance Program—Gateway Health, and a therapeutic professional

10. Legal practitioners, Shepparton: Camerons Lawyers; Deane & Associates; Faram Ritchie Davies; Victoria Legal Aid

11. Judges of the County Court of Victoria

12. Victim support specialists, Wodonga: Centre Against Violence; Court Network; Victims Assistance Program—Gateway Health

13. Victim support specialists, Ballarat: Ballarat Centre Against Sexual Assault; Victims Assistance Program—Centacare

14. Legal practitioners, Ballarat: Central Highlands Community Legal Centre; Dianne Hadden Lawyer; Justin Burke Lawyers; Victoria Legal Aid

15. Magistrates of the Magistrates’ Court of Victoria

16. Community legal centres: Federation of Community Legal Centres (Vic); Goulburn Valley Community Legal Centre; Youthlaw; Eastern Community Legal Centre; Knowmore

17. Criminal justice agencies and stakeholder organisations

18. Victims of crime

Voiced by Amazon Polly